I’ve been that soldier (Part 2)

Just after 8am, sitting at my desk here and my brain is in overdrive. That’s the problem with people like me, a mind that refuses to just shut up and relax. So, what’s keeping my mind active this morning?

A few nights ago, I wrote a true story. It was on my mind for some time and I felt (and still do), that it needed to be put out there. Some will agree, some will not. If you’re reading this, you will probably have read it, so you’ll know what I’m talking about. If you didn’t, move on, there’s nothing to see.

The following day, it was shared by a major online website and went a little bit “viral”. That’s the purpose of these blogs, to voice an opinion, engage in debate, tell a story or state fact. I was thrilled and still am, that somebody took the time to read my blog and then consider it worth sharing, on a major site, for more people to see.

One of the downsides to a major “scoop” of having your piece shared nationally, is how other people will interpret it. I think that the actual message I was trying to get accross, was lost and I’d like to attempt to re-affirm what I was trying to say.

Please remember, that I was working for a major international company at the time. I signed a confidentiality clause with them, as part of my employment and subsequent leaving, not to disclose any information about them, their processes or any other matter. There were also, other people involved at the time, some people still work there, some have moved on, like I have. All of those people have a right to their anonymity and I have no right to even consider referring to them or identiying them.

Did I have access to a solicitor and if not, why not? Of course I did, but as I knew that I was innocent, I didn’t feel that there was any need to have him present. He was however, just a phone call away and was well aware of the proceedings. If I needed him, he would have advised me and would have been there very quickly. The company I was working for, complied with the Gardaí fully, as I did. We had nothing to hide.

Now, that all that stuff is put to bed, please remember and take on board, my original point.

My blog was inspired by recent media hysteria (that’s what I call it anyway) against bike riders. Pedestrians, horse riders, farmers or indeed anybody else that uses the road for non driving purposes, be well advised, your day will come. A paper never refuses ink and at some stage, it will be you that makes the headlines.

Some of the comments that people make in reference to these stories, are so inciteful, dangerous and hateful, that they don’t really deserve comment. It happened to me a few months ago, with a video I shared on social media. I got some great messages from people, commending me, for highlighting a problem, that obviously exists. I also received the other type of message that wasn’t quite so positive. “I’d wipe you out you lycra clad bastard”, “if I was in that car, I would have creased you with the door, you bastard”. One of my favourites was this one, from a gentleman that owns / runs a skip hire company in the UK. “Why don’t you pr1cks use the trails, that her majesty’s government and the British taxpayer provides for you and stay the f*ck off our roads”. Obviously this man excelled in geography classes.

If people are prepared to say stuff like this on social media, be rest assured, they will be just as erratic and dangerous on the road. Whether you are a bike rider, you’re driving to work or taking your children from school, you will possibly meet these maniacs and the result is and can be catasprophic.

The point of my blog was an attempt to explain what happens in the event of a serious event. In my case, I was innocent and was proven to be. I would not wish the experience on my worst enemy.

Some people cope with stressful situations differently. That was how I coped. Not very well as you can see and once again, I’ll repeat, in a situation where I was innocent.

Imagine sitting in that interview room guilty? Imagine having lost the temper behind the wheel and having taken a life? Imagine hearing charges being read to you? All because you dislike cyclists or other non driving road users, that held you up for a few moments and you went for a gap that wasn’t there.

That’s the point in my blog, nothing else and it’s important to  keep it in context.