But it’s not me talking.

addictiona

Every morning, I afford myself a quick read of the newspaper headlines. Then, I take a quick look through the “opinion” pieces, admittedly, avoiding the “celebrity” nonsense, followed by a quick look at the sport and weather. Afterwards, I’m ready to face the day ahead.

This morning however, another piece on The Indo caught my eye. Written by Paul Kimmage, he wrote about how two individuals, both fighting addictions, are accepted in Ireland.

(Bear in mind now, that we like to see ourselves as a progressive country. We accept different cultures, people and religions. Talking of religion, we like to think that we have cast off the shackles of the Catholic Church and have moved on)

Anyway, Kimmage’s piece is about former Republic of Ireland footballer, Paul McGrath and the Tyrone Gaelic Footballer, Cathal McCarron. Both men are heroes, to legions of sportsfans, but both men also suffer from addictions. In McGrath’s case, it’s alcohol, McCarron’s demons are confronted in his gambling. It’s a fascinating piece, and well worth a read.

I posted the following story on FB a few months ago. It’s a true story and happened as described.

We were sitting in a fast food restaurant in Dublin. Minding our own business, a young man approached us, looking for a few quid. He was well under the influence of something, that was obvious, but he posed no risk to us and never threatened us one little bit. In seconds, a small army of security men rushed in, shouting at us not to give him anything. The man was manhandled away from us, god only knows where he is tonight.

We were upset and to my eternal shame, I sat down and did nothing. Did I mention that the man was most likely an addict.

Now, I’ve heard all the arguments from people. “He would rob the eye out of your head if he got a chance”, (he didn’t),”f*ckin junkies (in modern progressive Ireland, everybody has a label), should be all shot”, (they are human beings too), “poor eejit, up from the country, looking at the world through his rose tinted glasses, (I have seen plenty of the world and believe me, my glasses are not rose tinted. It goes on and on and on. In the end, I stopped reading the comments.

As labels go, the following is important to remember:

  • Alcohol addiction:  (that’s okay, very good, he’s a great man with a few jars in him).
  • Any other addiction, sex, gambling, shopping and the newest one, according to the “meeja”, social media, (what the f*ck is wrong with him, there must be a cure).
  • Drug addiction (not acceptable, shoot them).

So, what do we do with a drug addict? Fill them with methodone, put them back out onto the streets,(they are cured now), where their addiction drives them to crime, where they end up in prison, where they try to stay clean, to end up out on the streets again, using again, committing more crime to fuel their addiction. A revolving door, with death the most likely outcome and the comment in most social circles (in modern progressive Ireland, you have to be in a class or circle too, that’s very important), that they are small loss.

I’m no Paul Kimmage, or any other journalist at that, but I’m trying to understand addiction. This isn’t the place, or the time, to talk at length about it, but I have a few conclusions made.

If you’re a famous personality in Ireland, whatever havoc you cause through alcohol, it’s acceptable. Nothing to see here, move on. If you have any other addiction, you’re an oddball and need to cop on to yourself. If you’re addicted to drugs, come from a poor area or class (that word again), you’re not even welcome in a kip of a fast food restaurant.

All the while, the person behind the addiction screams “but it’s not me talking………….”

Thanks.