Waterford …….. Greenway and Vikings

On Tuesday last, I left home on my bike. My destination was Waterford city, via Dungarvan and the Greenway. As I headed out the Clonmel road, the first of many rain showers rolled in behind me from the Knockmealdowns. The shower catches up with me, so, a few miles from home, I’m soaked and there’s still quite a long way to go.

There’s a joke in Ireland that you know it’s summer, when the rain gets warmer. Irish people just get on with things. It’s Ireland, it rains, get over it. So, undaunted and unbowed, I ploughed on.

Through Ballymacarbery village, with the Comeragh mountains threatening more wet stuff, I made good progress, aided by the prevailing trade winds on my back. In no time at all, I was heading in to one of my favourite towns, Dungarvan. Dungarvan is an absolute jewel of a town. You could visit in darkest November and there’s a buzz there, I love it.

The sound of the chain rubbing against my front derailleur was annoying me, so a quick pitstop in Cyclesports was necessary for an adjustment. The lads had me sorted in no time and after a quick chat about the upcoming Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford, I was on my way again. Talking to the lads, I couldn’t believe how busy they were. The jobs board was full to capacity and that’s before the oncoming rush before next weekend. I asked the lads if the Greenway had been beneficial to them and the answer was a resounding yes. New builds, maintenance and the “do your best to keep it going” request is keeping the lads on their toes.

After a while, I was on my way again, in to my second soaking of the day. As I entered the greenway in Abbeyside, I had a few jokes with tourists, as they headed for cover from the deluge. “There’s no such thing as bad weather folks, just bad clothes”. Soon, as I headed out over Clonea, the sun reappeared and I quickly dried off again. Once again, we were enjoying another phenomenon exclusive to Ireland, the 4 seasons in one day.

As I headed along the Greenway, I met every kind of person imaginable. The small children, with their stabilisers attached, roller bladders, the affore mentioned tourists (lots of them), people just out for a walk and everybody with a cheery hello and a wave. Through the Ballyvoyle Tunnel, the Viaduct in Kilmacthomas, the wonderful Kilmeaden railway, it was a pure joy. Tom O’Mahony was doing a great trade at the pub, the Coach House was full, there was a buzz all along the route and it was brilliant.

I had a small hiccup just after Kilmeaden, as my carbon fibre racing machine didn’t take too kindly to the loose chippings on the road. I had to stop a few times to clear the offending stones from my brake callipers and frame. It was no big deal though and very soon, as I whizzed along the banks of the river, the magnificent River Suir Bridge came into view. The bridge is an absolute gem and a marvel of modern engineering and architecture. It’s awe inspiring.

Soon, I leave the Greenway and I’m in Waterford City. The first person to welcome me is a gentleman inviting me for Bacon and Cabbage at his pub. He has the most distinctive Dublin accent and we have great fun, as I ask him if he’s lost or of I’m in the wrong city. I scoot down the quays, on the perfect cycle lane, even having the audacity to pass a Garda on the way. Another pitstop at the Kiosk in the city centre for a well deserved coffee and I just stretch out and soak in the atmosphere. There’s no rush at all and I enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city and  the people as they go about their business.

Did I mention the fact that we’re actually staying in Waterford for a few nights. Yep, an hour from home and we’re staying. Our son is out at the Adventure Centre in Dunmore East with his friends from the local youth club, we all have a few days off, so we might as well stay.

We are booked into the Tower Hotel, right beside the river, with the marina and the boats for company. After a proper shower (no rain involved in this one) and a change of clothing, we head out for a stroll and some retail therapy.

The lads in Cyclesports had told me about the Viking development in the city and all I can say is “Wow”. Okay, pure and simple here, if you haven’t seen it, just go down there. Nothing else I can say, just do it. Google “Waterford Viking Triangle” and you’ll get all the information you need. It’s brilliant, with attractions for all ages, stop a coffee, visit the museums, theres’ virtual reality, you name it, it’s here. There’s even a huge open air Chess game to play (if you understand chess). You could spend so much time here and then, you’ll just come back tomorrow for more.

The other evening, I decided to head out on a training spin. Taking the bypass, skirting the city, I was quickly in Tramore, enjoying fine cycle lanes for practically the entire route. One of the first things I noticed was The “Beach Patrol”. These are young teenagers, going around the beach and the streets picking up litter. Taking pride in their community, they are a credit to themselves and their families. Out along the coast road, to the small village of Fenor, I’m using my inbuilt satnav (all men have it, a refusal to get lost), but I’m quickly heading in the completely wrong direction. A few local lads point me in the proper direction and after a little more mileage than planned, I’m back to the city. I also get a taste of what’s to come on the roads of Waterford next weekend, as I follow in the footsteps of King Kelly

After a few nights in Waterford, we’re heading for home. In a little over an hour, we’re opening the front door, after having a ball and a few bargains picked up too, in the summer sales.

Earlier this week, Aer Lingus and the DAA recommended that people arrive at Dublin airport 3 hours before their flight. As I stretched out the other night, I was thinking about it. Arriving at the airport at stupid o clock, getting a free feel from security staff, exhorbitant parking charges, a flight to the sun, where you have to stay in from the sun because you could get skin cancer, don’t drink the water and there’s lot s of creepy crawly things. That’s not a holiday, that’s a bloody nightmare.

Me, I’ll take the Greenway, the Vikings and Waterford.