I’ll pass on that thanks.

I believe that the Irish education system, despite its critics and underfunding, is among the best in the world. As a parent, it’s encouraging and exciting to see our child progress and do well at school. He gets assistance where it’s necessary, praise when it’s deserved and every day is exciting, as his little mind expands. None of this would be possible without a top class education system and I for one, stand very proud of it.

However, there is one part of our education system that I don’t agree with, as I believe it’s unfair, un-necessary and a drain on resources, with little or no return.

The part that I don’t agree with is the compulsory teaching and learning of Irish. I feel that it’s a dead language, it has no benefits long term, it’s not used in everyday society, it’s not used regularly in the business world, although I’m sure that there are slight exceptions, it’s a drain on resources that could be channelled elsewhere.  There may be some individuals not too happy about this, but it is NOT, our primary language. Most or all everyday conversation and business is carried out in English, FACT.  I also feel for example, that it is unfair that a working knowledge of Irish is necessary to enter key professions such as the civil service for example. In my case, I was taught Irish for 13 years and I have never used it once, I’d say a lot of people are in a similar situation. Value for money? I think not.

Now, that paragraph should be enough to start the ball rolling in my omission from a few Christmas card lists and no doubt, an internet troll or two will take exception. Despite the fact that I have previously spoken of how much Ireland means to me and how much I like living here, I will now be probably branded as “Anti-Irish”, maybe even a West Brit or some other ould nonsense. Earlier this week I was told on Social Media that my attitude stinks, from some lady I have never met. That’s the price you pay for having the audacity to support a person who has similar opinions. Some other man, that I’ve never met either, tried to make a case for making Irish non-compulsory and I agreed with him.

Let’s try to take a look at this objectively. We have a wonderful culture in Ireland, in particular through Art and Literature. We have given some of the greatest literary geniuses from Yeats to Joyce to the world and if you’re into all that stuff, that’s brilliant. The problem is that not everybody is as interested as you are. That is not to say that they don’t care about this culture and stuff, it’s just that there are other things to think about, such as keeping a roof over their heads, going to work every morning and providing for their families.

There are people that are interested in religion for example. It’s something that doesn’t really occupy many of my thoughts, but if that’s what floats your boat, go for it and more power to you. I don’t agree with organised religion as a rule, although I do the hypocrisy bit to good effect at times, such as Christmas or events for the sake of our child. I don’t like funerals and I avoid them as much as I can, as I prefer to remember a person as they were in life. Occasionally, people knock on the door with a religious message or theme, but I don’t answer it. I didn’t ask them to call and I don’t knock on their door with my opinions. That’s the way I am and it’s not meant to be offensive. I try to live as good a life as I can and I respect people and their beliefs. If that makes me a sinner and cast into eternal damnation, well so be it and I would endeavour so say, I’ll have some good if not great company.

Irish people have a great love of sport and are among the most passionate supporters in the world. Everywhere they go they represent their country impeccably and are welcomed with open arms. At home, we have a thriving sporting culture, in particular the GAA. Now, I have no interest in this either, although it is a handy prop in the music business to say that I’m from Waterford, but other than that, I genuinely couldn’t care less about it. I’m very much in the minority and I accept that and I’m happy with that. I don’t try to impose my opinions on people that enjoy GAA and I wouldn’t dream of it. That’s their thing, fair play to them.

Irish business is world renowned and has provided some of the most iconic brands and companies the world has ever seen. Is there anything more satisfying as walking through an airport in some far flung destination or browsing through a foreign supermarket and seeing an item with “Produced in Ireland” written on it. It gives you that bit of pride that a nation with half the population of London can be so good at what we do.

This brings me nicely to our native language. Some people like it, some people hate it and then you have people like me, that couldn’t really care less about it. I’d say that I could quite happily live out my remaining days without ever even thinking about it. That is until it’s forced in my door, through it being a compulsory subject in our education system.

If you wish to learn Irish, good luck to you. I would say the same about Science, Applied Maths, German, Spanish or even Mandarin Chinese. However, if you decide to study any of those subjects, it will be by choice, nobody will force you. Those subjects will most definitely stand to you in later life as you embark on that career you’ve always wanted.

There are people that wish to keep the language alive as part of our heritage and culture. Those people probably send their children to the Gaeltacht during the summer, maybe to an all Irish speaking school and they probably speak Irish in the family home. To those people, I’d say the same thing, the very best of luck to you and I admire you. However, it’s your choice to do this and it’s my choice not to.

Just for the record, some of the figures associated with the Irish language are mind boggling. It costs €43 per page, to get EU documents translated into Irish, as opposed to €22 for other languages (Source: Irish Times August 2017). In 2011, Irish was the “third” most spoken language in Ireland behind English and Polish (Source:www.irishcentral.com, March 2012). According to The Irish Examiner in 2013, it cost €1 billion to teach Irish per year, while a further 50 million was handed over between the television channel TG4 and the radio channel  RnaG.  

If Irish is as popular as some people think, why would it be necessary for a bankrupt nation to spend these amounts and the language still be ranked behind Polish?

I have tried to be as balanced as possible in this debate. No doubt somebody will get “offended” or upset with me having the audacity to speak my mind and having an opinion on something.

I am as proud to be Irish as the next and I do all I can to promote the country and to show the country in its best possible light. I support Irish producers, Irish sportspeople, Irish singers and Irish musicians.

However, there are parts of being Irish that I don’t want forced on me. I can make my own mind up and for the moment, I’ll pass on that, thanks.