The Noob.

For the last few days, I have been placed in a radio station, picking up what pieces of media experience I can, as this mid life crisis shows no sign of ending any time soon.

Is there anything more traumatic, worrying or downright scary than the first day in a new job? We’ve all been there, whether you are in your teens, picking up that part time job at the newsagents or as an adult, where the welfare of your family will be dependant on you picking up a regular wage and keeping a roof over their heads.

I can remember when I left school and entering the work place. It was a daunting thought and walking out onto the factory floor was nerve racking. In those days, back in the 1980’s, things were a little different to what they are today. First of all, you had the management structure, beginning with directors, senior management, foremen, who wore white coats and finally the chargehands. There was also the “pecking order” among the staff themselves. Respect had to be earned and that only happened with time. You began as a “casual”, which meant you had a job and that was about it. You kept your nose clean, didn’t ask for holidays, didn’t even consider sick pay and as for a pay rise, well I’m sorry, but a refusal often offends so you have been warned. They will “break your time” at some stage, normally at Christmas, or financial year end, where you will be let go for a while. If you had given a good impression of yourself, you could expect a call back in the New Year.

Over time, you would move up in the pecking order and could look forward to being made “permanent”. Normally, this occurred when a senior member of staff retired and the next person in line got his job. You watched the list like a hawk and looked forward to the day you started to move up in the list. Once you were permanent, you might be put on a “key” job, which was much less laborious and more importantly meant more money and first choice on available overtime.

The other night I sat at home and sleep wasn’t going to happen. I suffer from sleeping problems anyway, so that was nothing out of the ordinary. However, this was different, I was going into a new job at a radio station, albeit for a short period of time, the following morning. I was going to be the “Noob” at this stage of my life and there is no feeling quite as horrible. On the drive into Clonmel, the feeling intensified and when I parked up outside the station, I actually considered turning around and going home again.

Why do we feel like this? What makes us feel so nervous and insecure? I have been to the radio station lots of times and have spoken on air about issues I feel strongly about. I know the producers and some other staff and they are not going to murder me. (In actual fact, quite the opposite, I don’t think I have ever been made as welcome anywhere in my working life). Over the weekend, I put it down to the body and mind ensuring you don’t get complacent about things and that nervous energy is actually a good thing.

However, you want to put your best foot forward, while bearing in mind that first impressions last and that getting a “foot in the door” is a good thing. You also try hard not to be in the way and being an inconvenience to people. The problem is, you are NOT in the way and people actually go out of their way to make you feel welcome and that you enjoy your stay.

However, in your own mind, you’re still the NOOB.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment