A little bit for humanity

Here’s an email that I sent to Tánaiste (Deputy head of the Irish government) and Irish Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr Simon Coveney earlier this morning.

Dear Tánaiste,

Like the rest of humanity, I have awoken this morning to pictures and reports of yesterday’s massacre in Gaza.

Let me make the following crystal clear Tánaiste. I have NO political leanings and I have NO connections with groupings of any sort. I am a son, a brother, a husband, a parent, but most importantly, I am a human being. I believe that every person, regardless of their nationality or skin colour, has the right to a peaceful existence on this planet and also, the right to stand up and make their feelings known, when they feel oppressed or mistreated.

Yesterday was a dark day for humanity Tánaiste, as innocent people felt the full weight of an oppressive military machine. A sling shot, against the latest automatic weaponry, isn’t even David versus Goliath. This is a massacre, with no end in sight.

As I watched the Six-One News on RTE, I sat helpless and angry, as the Israeli Ambassador to Ireland, Mr Zeev Boker, spoke to news anchor, Caitriona Perry. Ms Perry repeatedly asked him, how he can justify the massacre which was unfolding before our eyes. Instead, Mr Boker read the usual script that the rest of the world seems to be accustomed to. There wasn’t the slightest bit of remorse in his voice, as Israel continues to attempt justification, for what I consider crimes against humanity.

Tánaiste, as Irish people, we have a history written in blood. Men and women, much braver than I, stood up to an oppressive regime, fought and gave their lives for the freedoms that I enjoy today. Their sacrifice will never be forgotten by Irish people.

As a proud Irish person, I feel deeply uncomfortable that the Israeli ambassador enjoys those same freedoms in my country today, while his counterparts exert their brutality on the innocents.

Why should he be accepted in our country Tánaiste? Can we, as Irish people, show the rest of the world that we will NOT stand idly by, as innocent people are murdered?

Therefore Tánaiste, I ask you to please consider expelling the Israeli Ambassador, as an act of solidarity with humanity.

My kindest rgds etc…………