Would you do it to your own?

It’s Saturday afternoon now and I’m not long out of the scratcher. I have trouble sleeping, but when I do sleep, it’s brilliant. I was in such a deep sleep today, that when I woke and looked at the clock, I thought I was late for work. The Spurs V Arsenal match is about to start on telly, our child is inside playing his Play station with his friends, my wife is gone to Cork, something to do with work. The dog is snuggled up here beside me; she loves Saturday’s as she loves human company. So, it’s a typical family  Saturday environment, everybody doing their own thing, nothing to worry about, enjoying life. We’re very lucky and we know it.

A quick look at my news feed however, tells me that not everybody is as lucky as we are. The carnage on the roads in Ireland continues mercilessly. Thirteen cyclists have now lost their lives on Irish roads this year, compared to ten in the entire of last year. It’s shocking, it’s scary and it’s tragic. Thirteen empty places at this year’s Christmas dinner table, lives changed forever, children left without a parent. The reason why, they chose to ride a fucking bike.

Now, my apologies for my choice language, it is not typical of me in my writing and I do my best to avoid it.

This was my first proper week of winter training, so I put in a big effort. I have signed up for the Wicklow 200 next June. It’s rated as Ireland’s toughest sportive, so it will be a hard day out and training started immediately.

It was a typical weather week in Ireland too. My first training spin on Monday took me out the Cork road to Mitchelstown. It was nice and dry on the way out, but once I turned at the Fir Grove Hotel, the heavens opened. The rain on the way back was torrential and it was freezing cold (a bit like summer really, except it’s a little warmer then). Wednesday evening was a similar course, with about 10km added on, the emphasis on maintaining a higher heart rate and average speed. Weather conditions were okay, very cold but mercifully, no wind, I hate wind. Thursday night was a bit easier, with another rider along for company. It was just below freezing and I put in a few hard efforts here and there, raising my heart rate, allowing it to drop, before raising it again. Friday, was a brief excursion onto the hills, with a trip over The Vee. Today is a rest day and tomorrow, hopefully I’ll go out with the gang. If not, I’ll head out on my MTB for a while. All in all, a tough, hard week, with a big effort put in, an effort that will hopefully reap dividends next June.

Most winter training takes place at night, due to a minor inconvenience called work. Much as we would like it to do so, cycling won’t pay the bills or feed the family. I take every precaution I can and if I can be so bold, I actually think that cycling at night is safer than people think.

Please bear in mind, this is MY opinion and only that. I  AM a member of a cycling club and I’m NOT speaking on their behalf, any of my comments on social media, or on radio are my own.

Anyway, I use top quality lighting. Up front, it lights the road about 20 – 25 metres in front of me. I use similar quality lights on the rear, on flashing pulse mode. They are extremely bright and very effective. I wear a LAZER helmet, with built in rear facing light, again on pulse mode. I keep to a safe road, with a wide hard shoulder and little traffic, as the adjoining motorway takes all the heavy stuff. I have my beacon activated on STRAVA, so the lads at home will know where I am, if needed. I must be doing things right, as the Garda Traffic Corps are a regular sight on the same road and they pass me without any problems. I dare say, those people wouldn’t be long making me aware of my responsibilities if I was falling below the acceptable standards.

Also this week, I’ve had a few close escapes. Now, when you are close to training 250km in a few days on Irish roads, during winter, in the pitch dark, on your own, maybe you should come to expect one or two incidents. I’ll let you, the reader, decide.

The other night, I was just approaching home, about 200 metres or so to go, yep that close.  As I stated earlier, I had all my lights operating, it’s a lit up area and I was using the designated cycle lane. Up ahead, I saw them, a few yobs and I knew their intentions. There was a car approaching behind, so I’m keeping an eye out for it, trying to get it into my peripheral vision. I’m watching the group too, because I know exactly what is about to happen. Sure as hell, they don’t disappoint and as I approach, one of them steps out in front of me, in a deliberate attempt to knock me off. I swerve, onto the main road, to avoid him and to avoid myself injury. You see, I’m a musician for a living, we don’t get sick pay or disability benefit. Thankfully that car is a bit further back than I thought. Then the usual name calling and expletives begin, strangely enough when you’re 50 metres away, never to your face.

So, I’ll give the yobs the right of reply. Why?

Yesterday, heading out on a training spin, I approached a set of temporary traffic lights near a local school. My light was green, so I passed through, but the Ford Mondeo coming against me ran straight through their light which was red. He gesticulated at me to get out of his way. I pointed out the fact that I was in the right and that he broke a red light. I got the usual response for my troubles,

So, I’ll give the driver the right of reply. Why?

As I arrived home yesterday from the same training spin, I approached a very dangerous junction. It was close to school finish time, so the road was very busy. I covered my brakes and kept a close eye out, expecting anything. I wouldn’t be let down as the lady in the red car came straight through the junction, into my path, forcing me out into the oncoming traffic to avoid her. (For what it’s worth, I was riding a world tour bike yesterday. It’s my pride and joy, so I’m very protective of it. I will heal, the bike won’t). The lady got stuck in traffic further up the road, so I rolled up and thanked her for her manners and road etiquette. She maintained a stony face looking forward, hadn’t even the decency to look me in the eye, let alone just say sorry, I fucked up.

So, here’s your right of reply opportunity. Why?

Isn’t it comforting to know that we are sharing our roads and communities with these people. People that don’t give one damn about the rest of us. People who are quite prepared to cause injury or worse and just don’t bloody care.

Now, the usual old nonsense is trotted out about cyclists. Only this week, the cretin George Hook disgraced himself once again. He was on BBC television  this time, using Nazi salutes in reference to cyclists. What a wonderful ambassador this idiot is for our country. Really, I shouldn’t even give him the publicity, as I would have a greater respect for the dirt on my frame after rolling through cow shit than I would have for him.

Thirteen families are heartbroken as 2017 comes to a close. There will be more, I hope I’m not one of them. I enjoy my sport, I enjoy my life and I love nothing more than my family, as we go about our business and have our ups and downs.

So, my message to certain people out there. You are obviously quite prepared and happy to destroy my life, as you have proven this week. Would you do it to your own?

rainy vee

 

Leave a comment